ALA Council

In 2009 the Council of the ALA was expanded to include eleven (11) Active Fellows.  The original ten (10) members of the Council included the President who leads the Council, the Vice President/President-Elect, the Secretary, the Treasurer,  the Editor, the three (3) preceding Presidents and two (2) Councilors-at-Large.  These members are elected at the Annual Meeting of the Association and serve for a one (1) year term, or until their successors are elected. In 2009, in an effort to promote continuity amongst the council, the position of ALA Historian was created.  The Historian, having been a Past President, served a term of five (5) years and eligible for an  additional term.  In 2021, the by-laws for the secretary, treasurer, editor, and historian were modified for length of term would be four years and eliminating the fast-track position for the president.    For further details on Council Members and duties please refer to the by-laws of the Association.


The Council has met twice yearly to manage the business of the Association.  The first meeting,  held during the winter either via teleconference or in-person at the Triological Society Combined Sectional Meetings focused on the President’s planning of the annual meeting and subsequent matters that require action prior to or during the meeting held at COSM.  The second meeting, held immediately prior to the Annual Meeting of the Association, included finalization of reports for the business meeting and introducing new members and any pertinent information for the membership. Council voted during its meeting in April 2021 to incorporate a third meeting in the summer so a final report, related to the annual meeting, would be presented and approved.

2024-2025 ALA Officers and Council Members




Michael M. Johns III, MD

Keck Medicine of USC
Center for Healthcare Professions
1540 Alcazar Street, Suite 204Z
Los Angeles, CA  90033
Phone: (323) 442-5579

Vice President/President-Elect
Joel H. Blumin MD

Medical College of Wisconsin
8701 W. Watertown Plank Road
Milwaukee, WI 53226
Phone: (414) 955-0836


Ted Mau, M.D., Ph.D

University of Texas – Southwestern Medical Center
5323 Harry Hines Blvd.
Dallas, TX 75390
Phone:  (214) 645-8898

Robert Buckmire M.D.

University of North Carolina – Chapel Hill
POB Ground Floor, 170 Manning Dr
Chapel Hill, NC 27599
Phone: (984) 974-6484

Karen M. Kost, M.D.

McGill University Health Center, Dept. of Otolaryngology
1001 Decaril Blvd., Room DS1-3310
Montreal, QB, H4A 3J1, CANADA
Phone: 514-934-1934, X42285

Albert L. Merati, MD

University of Washington – Seattle, Dept. of Otolaryngology
1959 NE Pacific St., Box 356515
Seattle, WA 98195-6515
Phone: (206) 369-3257

Third Councilor
Clark A. Rosen, MD

University of  California – San Francisco
Voice and Swallowing Center
2330 Post Street, 5th Floor
San Francisco, CA 94115
Phone: (415) 514-8512



Second Councilor
Lucian Sulica, MD

Weil Cornell  University Medical Center
1305 York Avenue, 5th Floor
New York, NY 10021
Phone: (646) 962-4734; Fax: (646) 962-0384

First Councilor
Dinesh K. Chhetri, MD

University of California, Los Angeles
Department of Head and Neck Surgery
200 Medical Plaza, Suite 550
Los Angeles, CA 90095
Phone: (310) 794-4225; Fax (310) 206-1393



Julina Ongkasuwan, M.D.

University of Texas Health Sciences Center
6701 Fannin St., MSC 640.10
Houston, TX 77030
Phone: (832) 822-3519      Fax: (832) 825-3251

Tanya K. Meyer M.D., M.S.

University of Washington – Seattle, Dept. of Otolaryngology
1959 NE Pacific St., Box 356515
Seattle, WA 98195-6515
Phone: (206) 369-3257



Maxine Cunningham, MBA

P O Box 941
Antioch, TN 37013-0941
Phone:  (615) 315-7098 (office); (615) 812-6170 (mobile);   Fax:  615-739-5469